Forum

September 17, 2018 0 comments

Forum Navigation
You need to log in to create posts and topics.

Half actions and reloading questions

Hi there!

One more question. The rules states that a character can perform a full action and a half action in the same round with a -20 penalty to both. However, Table 3.2 (Action Summary) specifies that "Move to Engage", "Quick Reload" and "Drawing a Weapon or Ready an Item" impose a -20 penalty to CMB and move actions. Is this penalty applied on top of the normal -20 (for a total of -40)? Or just a reminder to apply the already stated -20 penalty when you perform a full and a half action?

Also, the Weapons Table at the end lists only "Reload (0)" for the Short Bow, specifying also a -10 to CMB while doing so. Does this mean...

- That the only ranged weapon that you can perform a Quick Reload with is the Short Bow, and the penalty is -10 plus the normal -20 (-30 total).

- That all ranged weapons can be used with the Quick Reload action, but they have -20, and the Short Bow has only -10 (instead of the -20).

- A third, totally different option that I didn't understand.

Sorry if I'm being a little dense, but none of these options seem to match these text, that can be found in the "Range and Reloading" section:

Some missile weapons, like slings or certain bows, can also be Quick Loaded as a Half Action, permitting their wielder to attack in Ranged Phase B of the same round with a -20 penalty to their CMB.

Thanks!

Aha! Yes, that's an old typo that should have been corrected a few version ago ^_^

Please disregard the "-10" modifier on the Short Bow, characters can "Quick Load" and shoot in Phase B with a -20 penalty to their CMB.

Do not meddle in the affairs of Wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.

For all ranged weapons, or only for the Short Bow? If it's the former, should the Sling also have the "Reload (0)" property?

About the other question, is the -20 to CMB specified in "Move to Engage", "Quick Reload" and "Drawing a Weapon or Ready an Item" added to the -20 for half+full action? Or is the same modifier?

Thanks again!

Bows and slings (basically, you can't "Quick load" a crossbow)!

We were talking about it with Tom the other day, and thought we could simply have a "quick load" tag for weapons that can be loaded and fired in the same round.

The -20 on move to engage and ready item is just a reminder of the Half Action + Full Action penalty, it isn't a separate penalty.

Do not meddle in the affairs of Wizards, for they are subtle and quick to anger.

Thanks! And sorry for being so insistent!